[Bell Historians] Re: Modes

LOVE, Dickon DrLove at s...
Thu Feb 12 17:11:45 GMT 2004

There are 3 minor scales:

Natural Minor (or Aeolian Mode): A B C D E F G A
Harmonic Minor: A B C D E F G# A
Melodic Minor: A B C E F F# G# A

In classical theory the melodic scale is used for ascending only. When
descending, since the G# is not used to lead into the tonic A, the natural
minor is used. This is what Mike Chester remembers and is what pianists are
taught when running through scales for exams.

In jazz harmony however it is accepted that the Melodic Minor runs up and
down the scale.

The use of minor keys is interesting and research by Nick Davies in Kent
suggested to him that e.g. Lydian modes were actually the norm in many



This e-mail and the documents attached are confidential and intended solely
for the addressee; it may also be privileged. If you receive this e-mail in
error, please notify the sender immediately and destroy it. As its integrity
cannot be secured on the Internet, the Atos Origin group liability cannot be
triggered for the message content. Although the sender endeavours to maintain
a computer virus-free network, the sender does not warrant that this
transmission is virus-free and will not be liable for any damages resulting
from any virus transmitted. 

More information about the Bell-historians mailing list