[r-t] Lead-based v Rule-based

Nicholas Small smalls at girvian.freeserve.co.uk
Wed Dec 31 11:57:35 UTC 2014

1. Don:
> Does a method at stage N have to be able to be applicable to any possible 
> row of stage N?

Consider the doubles RBM in which 60 Grandsire is rung with 5th as 
observation - not much fun starting from a row with the 5th is in the hunt.

2. It is a red herring to consider it of relevance that some people ring 
some LBMs by rules. LBMs are surely a sub-set of RMBs.

Incidentally, handbell ringers may well ring Cambridge S Minor by rules - by 
the treble - but a first stab at Pudsey S Major could easily use place 

3. Remember to distinguish rows from changes.

Nicholas Small 

More information about the ringing-theory mailing list