[r-t] A Ringing Puzzle

Matthew Frye matthew at frye.org.uk
Sun May 25 17:40:40 UTC 2014

On 25 May 2014, at 14:37, Mark Davies <mark at snowtiger.net> wrote:
> With leadhead calls, arguably you've rung Bristol instead of Horsleydown. In leadhead spliced, including both Horsleydown and Bristol would be nonsensical. Does that mean it is in fact better to treat these constructions as "blocks", or as a lead of another method with a call?

(E)A.2. A call is a means of passing from one course of a method to another.

As I understand that, it means a seconds place call in Bristol is not allowed, as you are not then in another course but the same one. However, putting an 8ths place call in Horsleydown (were it to be allowed) would be perfectly fine. Obviously.

Just noticed that that decision, too, only refers to a "method". No calls allowed for non-method blocks, so Don still can't ring a peal of his method A, sorry.


More information about the ringing-theory mailing list