[r-t] Start from backstroke - A question from a novice in technical matters

James White mail.james.white at gmail.com
Mon Mar 26 21:58:39 UTC 2018


Start and end in rounds makes no mention of strokes so I see no reason why you cannot start and end on either stroke.

My 5077 Grandsire Caters has rounds at hand, then 123547698 at back (the start is with a single) and proceeds from there in the usual eat (with 3rds being made).  It comes round at backstroke, that is with rounds at back.  Including rounds at either end there are 5078 rows but 5077 changes.

According to your comment below, ALL (normal) peals start at backstroke (with rounds at back and non-rounds at hand).  My peal therefore “starts at hand”, but this is not the conventional usage of these terms.


Thank you.  The person who has questioned the use of “Start at backstroke” instead of start from/at handstroke has said that he thinks it must be from handstroke because CC Decisions D.A.1 state that “A peal shall start and end in rounds” and therefore the start of the peal (in normal terms) is the backstroke preceding the first non-rounds handstroke (what you refer to, I think, as row -1).  So as a peal must start in rounds, he argues, that you can never describe a peal as starting at backstroke if that backstroke is not rounds.  This is a perhaps an esoteric, but nevertheless, interesting argument.  I wonder does it have any other adherents?
ringing-theory mailing list
ringing-theory at bellringers.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.ringingworld.co.uk/pipermail/ringing-theory/attachments/20180326/a1ee0ba0/attachment.html>

More information about the ringing-theory mailing list